Hard Ass Compilation

28th May 2012

1. Nic Sarno – Mana Wasa
2. Savage Skulls & French Fries – Marawa
3. Brenmar – Waiting On
4. Oliver Twizt & Dj Rockid – Wanna be Gangstas
5. Poirier – Vivendo Juntos
6. Kry Wolf – Picadinho Di Pedalina
7. Melé – Kanopa Riddim
8. Kingdom – Stadium Pass
9. Seiji – Buzzcut
10. J-Wow & Toy Selectah – Mo’Chaxo
11. Slap in the Bass – Tapa
12. Wildlife – Metazoa
13. Pocz & Pacheko – Tuki Love
14. Dubbel Dutch – Dead Pool
15. Bok Bok – Dance Report
16. Douster – A Mi A Loco
17. Zombies For Money – Me Toca So
18. Martelo Vs Canblaster – Cannibal
19. Bert On Beats – Bassy Baile
20. Cardopusher – Tu Bizcochito
21. Schlachthofbronx – Backup Run
22. Hard Ass Mix Tape (exclusive on iTunes)

iTunes / Beatport / Junodownload / Boomkat


It’s all about the rather hectic kuduro vibes right here as Buraka Som Sistema’s J-Wow neatly packages the previous Hard Ass Sessions he’s commissioned over the last three years into one rather monstrous compilation. With an all-star cast including the likes of Seiji , Bok Bok, Mele and Kry Wolf, it’s a collection that will tickle the tastes of all moombhaton and favela fans as wild Afro-beat tempos rocket rampantly amidst nutty synth riffs and gritty bass. Highlights include the hardcore techno style riff on Tapa’s “Slap In The Bass” and the incessant toad-like croaks of “Me Toca So” by Zombies For Money. – Junodownload Review

Press Release

Taking advantage of Buraka Som Sistema’s introduction of kuduro as part of the global musical landscape, J-WOW quickly understood it was meant to last. As the percussive madness imported from Luanda began informing beatmakers and producers all over the globe, people started reimagining it and giving it new forms and purposes. They cross-bred it with house, techno, dubstep and the list goes on: it became a very strong influence for producers who like to see sweaty bodies on the dance floor.

It was inevitable. J-WOW started recruiting some of his favorite producers from around the globe and challenged them to reinterpret the kuduro phenomenon in their own unique ways. Artists like Bok Bok, Douster, Seiji, Zombies For Money or Canblaster – among many others – heeded his call and came forth with the most eclectic, weird, crazy and awesome blend of pumped-up percussive bangers that shot the kuduro genre to Outer Space and back. The result was the mini-compilation series we lovingly called Hard Ass Sessions.

Three years and six volumes later we bring you this full-fledged compilation, featuring J-WOW’s personal favorites of the series, hand-picked to give you the best possible experience inside the Hard Ass universe. This seasoned DJ and founding member of Buraka Som Sistema selected tunes from Nic Sarno, Melé, Pocz & Pacheko, Poirier and many other members of the Hard Ass family, casting a new light on some of our favorite tunes from the Enchufada catalogue. As an added bonus we’ve reached out to the really cool Hungarian production duo Slap In The Bass and decided to welcome them to the family by including the previously unreleased tune “Tapa”.

As an added bonus, this physical compilation will also be released digitally, including every single track that was previously released on all Hard Ass Sessions mini-compilations so far, as well as an exclusive mix by J-WOW featuring his favorites of the series.